Live-blogging from mandated parent-teen 2-hour course on Connecticut rules for a graduated license. The setting is All-Star Driver, Watertown, Connecticut. There are more than 90 locations throughout the state.
Instructor Scott Wilson now moves on from the big enchilada of distraction to why teens tend to react in a threatening road situation instead of pause, think, then respond strategically.
Scott returns to research. He tells the parents and teens that it is only through experience that the new driver develops a menu of ways to handle a possible emergency. That's another reason the CT law specifies that a newly licensed driver can't have friends in the car for a year. They simply don't have the on the road experience to process all that stimulation. After all, in the teen years, friends are everything.
WARNING: Violating the passenger rule can result in a $300 fine. This lesson is registering on the faces of the teens. Money talks.