Live-blogging from mandated parent-teen 2-hour course on Connecticut rules for a graduated license. The setting is All-Star Driver, Watertown, Connecticut. There are more than 90 locations throughout the state.
Scott Wilson then moves into how things can go very wrong, at least in terms of Connecticut law. If the teen gets nailed with texting or being on a cell phone when driving, the consequences are serious.
Take the cell phone use. For the first offense it's a 30 day suspension, for second, it's 90 days, for the third, its a 6 month suspension. There are also hits to the pocketbook. Those include the $175 license restoration fee and court fine.