Live-blogging from mandated parent-teen 2-hour course on Connecticut rules for a graduated license. The setting is All-Star Driver, Watertown, Connecticut. There are more than 90 locations throughout the state.
All-Star Driver instructor Scott Wilson now talks alcohol. Surprisingly, the teens are very aware about the details of what constitutes impaired driving because of alcohol. They also have anecdotes of other teens who got nailed for this.
Those drivers under 21 wh0 don't pass the test lose their license for 12 months. Those who refuse the test could lose their license for 18 months. That could be just the tip of the iceberg. Court could also enter the picture. Sentencing could range from jail to community service to big fines.
Scott explains why the law can be so severe. One concept he explains is "implied consent." When the teen signs up for the licensing process, there is an agreement to take the test for possible alcohol in the system. In Connecticut, what counts as evidence is the observation of the police officer. So, if the teen is stopped, it's legal common sense to go along with the test.